I believe social media and blogging are very important in today’s society. One great benefit to companies having a powerful digital presence is brand awareness. I have learned and bought from so many new companies just because of social media. For example, Etsy is an e-commerce site that sells handmade or vintage items from other users. I learned about Etsy in regards to a Facebook post from a friend and now I shop on their app all the time! To think, if social media didn’t exist, I would have never heard about Etsy – let alone it may not even have existed. Blogging is important in similar ways. A company that blogs can highly increase brand recognition as well.

Screen Shot 2015-12-03 at 8.09.00 PM

In reference to my blogging experience, I believe that pictures are the most effective tool. When I see a blog post with many photos or when the photos match up to the content of the text, in my opinion, it is much more worth while to read. In contrast, I believe links aren’t as effective simply because everyone has different interests. What a blogger “hyperlinks” because he/she feels it is worth searching, the reader may think otherwise.

Also, I believe a box of emoticons should be included in the draft portion of blog sites such as WordPress. I used emoticons in my previous blog posts but would like to have seen a whole array of them in the top editing bar to be able to view and select one that is appropriate to my topic’s sentence.

Screen Shot 2015-12-03 at 8.09.53 PM

If I were to be discussing a rare and interesting topic, I believe blogging would be even more beneficial to me in my future. Or, maybe one day I will be able to start my own business – and if that is the case, I will definitely implement social media and blogging tools to increase brand awareness which can then boost my sales. 🙂


Screenshots in order: Etsy and Get Emoji.

